Home MLS Details 10 Seaport About Marina Bay Back to 10 Seaport

 

Marina Bay

With its Nantucket-style boardwalk, charming boutiques, superb restaurants and breathtaking views of the Boston skyline, Marina Bay has become Boston's premier waterfront entertainment destination. Enjoy cocktails at WaterWorks, fine dining at Siro's or any number of Marina Bay restaurants, or just stroll the boardwalk and enjoy the sunsets and scenic vistas of this picturesque harborside community.

DINING/NIGHTLIFE:

Captain Fishbones:
332 Victory Road
Breakfast, lunch, dinner, brunch buffet
617-471-3511
 

Enjoy outdoor dining along the beautiful boardwalk at Marina Bay. Specialties such as oysters Florentine and lobster salad complement a full menu of steak, seafood and burgers. $-$$

 

Marina Bay Sandwich Shop: 500 Victory Rd. 617-472-5223. $

 

Siro's at Marina Bay:
307 Victory Rd.
Lunch, dinner, Sunday brunch
617-472-4500
 

Enjoy contemporary Italian cuisine accompanied by spectacular waterfront views at this acclaimed Marina Bay restaurant. Siro's classic and innovative cuisine is presented in a sophisticated and elegant atmosphere. $$$

 

Skyline Restaurant:
305 Victory Road
Lunch, dinner
617-471-1453
 

Great food and great views in a casual atmosphere make Skyline one of Marina Bay's most popular restaurants. $$

 

WaterWorks:
333 Victory Rd.
617-689-0600
 

New England's only outdoor nightclub brings a bit of the tropics to Marina Bay! From barbecues and billiards to live music and volleyball, there's always something happening beneath the swaying palm trees of the Boston area's most popular summer hotspot!

back to top

 

SHOPS & SERVICES:

Aria Salon & Spa: 332 Victory Rd., Marina Bay. 617-472-1344

 

Clippers Hair Design: 500 Victory Rd., Marina Bay. 617-328-9719

 

Center Market, The:
333 Victory Road
617-472-4499
Convenience items

 

Cream & Sugar:
321 Victory Road
617-770-3600
Ice cream, coffee and more

 

Village Gift & Photo Shop:
304 Victory Road
617-769-0500
 

Gifts, souvenirs, convenience items, framed artwork and more are available at this handy boardwalk shop.

 

Prime Travel/American Express: 500 Victory Road. 617-472-3697

back to top

About Quincy Historical Sites

Historic Sites

Travel back in time at the Adams National Historical Park, where you'll visit the birthplaces of not one, but two U.S. presidents: John Adams and his son, John Quincy Adams. Your journey begins at the park's Visitor Center in Quincy Center: After viewing the center's exhibits and video presentation, board a trolley for the short journey to the quaint colonial saltbox birthplaces of the presidents. From there, you'll travel to "Peacefield," the stately Adams mansion that served as summer White House to both Adams presidents and home to generations of their descendants. While at the Adams Mansion, be sure to visit the impressive Stone Library, built to house the Adams' collection of some 14,000 historic volumes, including the library of John Quincy Adams.

Hours:
Daily, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
April 19-November 10
Tours leave from Visitor Center every quarter past and
quarter to the hour. Last tour departs at 3:15 p.m.

Admission:
$5 for adults;
children 16 and under are free.

Adams National Historical Park Visitor Center
1250 Hancock Street Quincy, MA 02169
617-770-1175
www.nps.gov/adam

 

United First Parish Church:

Known as the "Church of the Presidents," this historic church was built from Quincy granite in 1828 with funds provided by John Adams. Tours of the church include a visit to the Adams Family crypt, where John Adams, John Quincy Adams and their wives are interred.

Hours:
Mid-April to mid-November
9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Admission:
$4 adults, $3 seniors, children 12 and under free

United First Parish Church
1306 Hancock St. Quincy, MA 02169 617-773-0062

 

Adams Academy/Quincy Historical Society:

Built on the site of the birthplace of legendary patriot John Hancock - and funded by an endowment left by John Adams - Adams Academy began its life in 1872 as a boys' preparatory school, which operated until 1908. In 1972, the building was renovated by the Quincy Historical Society and is now home to the new Quincy History Museum. The museum's exhibit - titled Quincy: Of Stone, Of Ships, of Minds, offers a comprehensive look at the city's history from Native American times up through the early 21st century.

Hours:
Museum/Gift shop: Monday - Friday, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturday Noon to 4 p.m.

Library:
Library: Monday and Wednesday, 9 a.m. to Noon, Friday 1 to 4 p.m.

Admission:
$3

Adams Academy/Quincy Historical Society
8 Adams Street
Quincy, MA 02169
617-773-1144

www.quincyhistory.org

to top

 

This charming colonial estate - parts of which date to 1685 - was home to generations of Quincys, one of Massachusetts' leading families whose descendants included President John Quincy Adams and Oliver Wendell Holmes. The estate was also the childhood home of Dorothy Quincy, wife of John Hancock, the first signer of the Declaration of Independence and first governor of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts. During the pre-Revolutionary War years, the Quincy Homestead was a meeting place for patriots such as John Adams, Josiah Quincy, Benjamin Franklin and Hancock.  

Hours:
Open May to mid-October

Tours:
By appointment; contact the Colonial Dames of Massachusetts at
617-742-3190, M-F, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Dorothy Quincy Homestead
34 Butler Road (corner of Hancock St. and Butler Rd.)
Quincy, MA 02169
617-742-3190
www.nscda.org/ma/quincy_homestead.htm
 

 

Hancock Cemetery:

For more than 200 years, Quincy's most illustrious residents and civic leaders were buried in historic Hancock Cemetery. Located across the street from First Parish Church where John Hancock's father served as minister - Hancock Cemetery is the final resting place of Henry Adams, the first Adams to live in Quincy and ancestor of John Adams; Colonel John Quincy, for whom the city is named; patriot Josiah Quincy and other notable historical figures.

Hours: Open daily

Admission: Free

Hancock Cemetery
Hancock St. (next door to City Hall, 1305 Hancock)
Quincy, MA 02169

 

Quincy's proud shipbuilding history comes to life at the USS Salem , a Cold War-era heavy cruiser that serves as home to the United States Naval Shipbuilding Museum. Located on the site of the former Quincy shipyard where she was built, the Salem offers visitors a chance to experience life on the former flagship of the U.S. Sixth Fleet.

Hours:
June - September:
10 a.m. to 4 p.m. daily
Winter:
Weekends, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Admission:
$6 adults, $4 seniors and children 4-12; under 4 free

USS Salem
739 Washington St.
Quincy, MA   02169
617-479-7900
www.uss-salem.org

to top

 

Built in 1770 as a country estate by revolutionary patriot Colonel Josiah Quincy, this colonial home is believed to have served as a lookout point from which patriots could observe British ships traveling in and out of Boston harbor. Colonel Quincy was the first in a long line of Josiah Quincys - a line that would produce three mayors of Boston and a president of Harvard University.

Hours:
Tours available June 1 - October 15 by appointment

Call 617-227-3956 for reservation/admission information.

Josiah Quincy House
20 Muirhead St.
Quincy, MA   02170
617-227-3957 x 256
www.spnea.org/visit/homes/quincy.htm

 

Granite Railway/Quarry Exhibits:

Granite Railway/Quarry Exhibits: Quincy is home to America's first commercial railway - the Granite Railway, built in 1826 specifically to transport Quincy granite to Charlestown for the construction of the Bunker Hill Monument. The remains of the Railway's incline are located at the end of Mullin Ave. in West Quincy.   Granite quarrying exhibits are also on display in the Presidents Place Galleria, 1250 Hancock St., Quincy Center.

Granite Railway
Mullin Ave.
Quincy

Quarry Exhibits
Presidents Place Galleria
(Near Adams National Historical Park Visitor Center)
1250 Hancock St.
Quincy, MA  02169
781-326-0079

 

Other Points of Interest

 

Abigail Adams Cairn:

This stone cairn atop Quincy's Penn's Hill marks the spot where Abigail Adams and young John Quincy Adams watched the burning of Charlestown during the Battle of Bunker Hill. The site is free and open to the public.

Abigail Adams Cairn
Penn's Hill at Viden Road
Quincy, MA 02169

 

Moswetuset Hummock:

This wooded area located at the intersection of East Squantum St. and Quincy Shore Dr. was the seat of the Indian chief Chickatabot, who was visited by Captain Myles Standish and the Indian guide Squanto in 1621.   The hummock's name - Moswetuset, or "hill shaped like an arrowhead" - is believed to be the origin of the commonwealth's name, "Massachusetts." The site is free and open to the public.

Moswetuset Hummock
Corner of East Squantum St. and Quincy Shore Dr.
Quincy, MA 02171

 

Built in 1881 by noted architect Henry Hobson Richardson - who also designed Boston's famed Trinity Church - the Thomas Crane Public Library's original building is a masterpiece of 19th century Romanesque architecture.   Its ornate woodwork and LaFarge stained glass windows are truly works of art. Since the library opened in 1882, several additions have been constructed, including a multimillion-dollar addition in 2001 that combines the architectural spirit of the original Richardson building with the technological capabilities of a 21st century library.

Hours:
M-Th, 9 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Friday & Saturday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sunday, 1 to 5 p.m.
Closed weekends during July and August

Admission is free

Thomas Crane Public Library
40 Washington St.
Quincy, MA 02169
617-376-1301
www.thomascranelibrary.org

to top